21 thoughts on “Digestive Disease Diary Due 1/15

  1. I have Celiac Disease. I was not born with this disease around three years ago after I would eat foods containing gluten my stomach would blow up. My stomach would start to hurt very badly and I almost felt like I ate too much or I was too full. The pain is a big discomfort, I would instantly feel like I needed to use the bathroom and I would be extremely bloated. Gluten is a protein found in foods containing wheat, barley, and rye. If you have celiac disease, eating gluten triggers an immune response to the gluten protein in your small intestine. Celiac disease has also made me have anemia which is a low blood count that makes me feel tired all the time. The only treatment or solution to this disease is going on an all-gluten-free diet. Some people with this disease have it worse than others meaning they have worse pain and others can tolerate it better if it is not as painful.

  2. Everyday I walk into practice I know the coaches that are going to be there in advance since it is the same every week. However, one day I walk into practice and my favorite coach isn’t there but his wife is. This threw us all off since they drive together normally. We were informed he was in the hospital for extreme pain in the abdomen and he would be back in a couple days. That was not the case, days went by, a week went by and he still wasn’t back. To then be informed he was diagnosed with Diverticulitis. A diverticulum is a protruding, sac-like portion of the wall of the gastrointestinal tract. It can occur anywhere in the gastrointestinal tract. Diverticulitis of the colon occurs when the intestinal mucosa fails due to increased intestinal pressure, resulting in bacterial infection. Since it is inflammation and an infection the first treatment, they resulted to was giving him antibiotics. Once again days went by, and he was not getting better whatsoever. The doctors finally collective agreed that the case was bad enough to do surgery. After the surgery he started to feel relief and feeling better. He came back to the gym a week after the surgery to “coach” but couldn’t spot us until a little over a month after the surgery. Now he is doing well and is healthy.

  3. Has anyone had pancreatitis, well I just found out my brother has it and he is the 1 of 5 cases that has the severe case. My brother has been very nauseaous lately, he is loosing a lot of weight, and just had a lot of abdominal pain. So my mom took him to the hospital because it got so bad the other night. They could not figure out what it was but then one Dr. did, Dr. Wendy said he might have pancreatis due to all his symptoms but she was worried because his case seemed severe. She was scared his Kidneys may fail as with the severe cases it happens a lot due to the kidneys not filtering waste from the blood. So the doctors figured out that his gallstones caused his pancreatitis so they said if they remove the cholecystectomy gallbladder then he would not have to live at the hospital. But this is not a cure as there’s not a cure for pancreatitis, but this is supposed to get him back to his old life style, so let us hope and pray it works.

  4. I am a Gastroenterologist which is a type of doctor that deals with digestive problems within the body. Today my 25 year old female patients came in complaining of diarrhea, fatigue, and weight loss. These are common symptoms that could relate to many issues from stress to irritable bowel syndrome to Crohn’s disease, so I decided to run a few tests. I first got a blood sample for a blood test, I obtained a stool sample, and conducted a CT scan to look at the inside of her stomach. I couldn’t obtain any information from the CT scan, everything visually looked normal. However, in her blood and stool tests, there were low levels of pH, fecal fat, and many unabsorbed sugars. There were also low levels of D-xylose which suggests low levels of absorption, plasma citrulline which is the biomarker for absorption, and bacteria overgrowth. It was then that I relooked at the CT scan results, and realized her small intestine looked unusual, and possibly damaged. This data led me to diagnose this patient with Short Bowel Syndrome. This syndrome occurs when the small intestine is damaged or shortened, and it cannot absorb the nutrients from the food we eat to maintain health. This patient’s fatigue is associated with a loss of nutrients and an electrolyte imbalance related to her syndrome. So, I informed her to take many vitamins including vitamins A, E, and D, B12, Calcium, Potassium, and Zinc daily. I also informed her to drink plenty of water and take electrolytes. I also informed her on top of taking the vitamins she needs, she needs to have a diet full of vitamins and minerals and eat clean foods on the regular. This is important to give her body more nutrients than an average would need because her body has a difficult time absorbing those nutrients. I also informed her that it is possible her symptoms could become more severe, and if that happens we can discuss surgical options including a bowel resection. I told her that liver failure is a concern for her, so it is important to keep with her healthy regimen. I informed her that an intestinal transplant would be approved for her if that happens, but our first goal is to treat it by making changes to her diet. Although short bowel syndrome is non – curable, with our treatment and diet plan, this patient can live a great quality life.

  5. Gastritis is a digestive disease which is the inflammation of the stomach lining. It’s primarily caused by consuming too much alcohol, or unless it’s chronic, which then could be caused and begin to develop over time. Digestive juices can damage the stomach lining and inflame the music layer. Signs of gastritis include nausea and vomiting, and sometimes after eating food, one’s abdomen feels filled up. An upper GI endoscopy can help detect and identify inflammation. Doctors use a tube and send it down the esophagus into the stomach to examine the lining. The most simple way to treat gastritis is by using acid blockers. Still, depending on the severity and type of gastritis, treatments could vary, such as medications to neutralize stomach acid, and prevent acid production, and antibiotics can help.

  6. My younger brother is always complaining about his stomach hurting and says he has diarrhea all the time. He is 17 and this has been going on for a couple of months. My mom finally took him to the doctor and they needed to run a couple of tests to see what was happening. The doctors didn’t find anything the same day so we had to wait a week for his blood work to come back. We got the results and it read that he had a very high white blood cell count which meant that there was inflammation somewhere in his body. He also had a low red blood cell count which indicates that he must have anemia. By putting all these symptoms together the doctors determined that my brother has Crohn’s disease. They told us that there is no cure for this disease, but he can take some medications such as steroids or immunosuppressants to reduce progression of the disease.

  7. We can’t visit my uncle anymore. We used to a lot before he got sick, me and my brother would play with his old action figures and he’d help us with homework. I learned a lot from him growing up since he was only in his 20s. He developed cancer when I was 10, and used marijuana to help with his chemotherapy symptoms. It helped him a lot for a while, he began to do the things we used to. However, shortly after he was rid of cancer he became heavily addicted to marijuana. He was nauseous in the early mornings and started using marijuana even more. But after a few months, he’d vomit all the time. After persisting he didn’t need a doctor, he went because marijuana used to have the opposite effect on him. After many blood, enzyme, and electrolyte tests, that’s when he found out about CHS or Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome. The substances that he was smoking over time attached to his brain, digestive tract, and esophagus; causing his metabolism to change and disconnect from his brain. Since he is so miserable we can’t see him anymore, he’s taking lots of pain meds and hot showers. My mom says she’s trying to get him to stop and recover, I’m really worried about him though.

    1. CHS can lead to muscle spasms, seizures, or kidney failure.
    2. CHS is often misdiagnosed with Cyclical Vomiting Disorder.
    3. Symptoms will go after after 24-48 hours without using Marijuana.
    4. It isn’t certain why some addicts get this and some do not.

  8. As a doctor I deal with many cases a day with the help of the nurses. My last case of the day stood out to me as it was the first time I had addressed Appendicitis as a doctor. Appendicitis is an inflammation of the appendix that is located in the lower right side of the abdomen. The patient who was a 23 year old woman claimed to have sudden pain that began on her right side in the lower abdomen and that she experiences pain when walking or coughing, as well as vomiting and abdominal bloating. I informed her of her possibly having Appendicitis , as when I applied slight pressure she claimed it was very painful, and the fact that the pain would increase as the inflammation worsens. I also informed her that the cause of her Appendicitis may have been a blockage in the lining of her appendix as the blockage could cause an infection and become inflamed. I briefed her on the various treatments for her Appendicitis that included antibiotics or surgery to remove the appendix (Appendectomy) as Appendicitis can cause serious complications such as a burst appendix or a pocket of pus in the abdomen. While speaking with her I told her that she did the right thing by coming in immediately when first seeing signs of Appendicitis, as those that get untreated have a mortality rate of greater than 50%. When the Appendicitis is very severe, an appendectomy may be the right route.

  9. As Familial Adenomatous Polyposis, or FAP, I am a genetic condition that causes numerous polyps to develop in the colon and rectum. These polyps, while initially benign, have a high potential to turn into colon cancer if not monitored and treated appropriately. Detection of my presence can be challenging, as I often do not cause noticeable symptoms in the early stages. However, as the condition progresses, symptoms such as changes in bowel habits or blood in the stool may occur. It’s particularly important for individuals with a family history of FAP to undergo regular screenings, as early detection is crucial for effective management. The primary treatment for FAP involves surgical intervention, which may range from removing parts of the colon to a total colectomy in severe cases. This is done to prevent the progression of polyps to cancer. Regular follow-up and monitoring are essential to manage the condition effectively and reduce the risk of cancer development.

  10. Matt was originally unconcerned when he came to the clinic, complaining of chronic abdominal pain. He explained that while he thought it was just constant back luck with indigestion, his wife had disagreed. He insisted that he was fine, but I asked him some basic questions. His abdominal pain had started after his appendectomy, and other symptoms he was suffering from included an inability to pass gas and when walking, sitting, and lying down in certain positions. These symptoms did not sound like indigestion to me, so I had abdominal x-rays taken. Matt was suffering from an abdominal adhesion. This condition is very common after surgery to the abdominal cavity, and arises when bands of scar tissue form inside the abdomen. Normally, organs within the abdomen do not stick together but this scar tissue causes them to adhere to one another. This condition, if not treated, can cause intestinal blockage, so it was important that Matt was sent in for laparoscopic surgery as soon as possible, as well as other procedures to prevent further adhesions. Abdominal adhesions were first discovered after a post-mortem in 1836, so this condition is certainly not new and fully curable. In addition, many adhesions need no treatment, so long as they cause no pain. Interestingly enough, this disease can still cause death today, and some have died from abdominal adhesion related bowel obstruction. However, our work here should ensure that Matt will make a full recovery.

    Report written by Doctor Blair on March the 19th, 2024

  11. I got diagnosed with GERD, Gastroesophageal reflux disease, a few years ago. I was having difficulty swallowing food and some heartburn. As part of my treatment, my doctor performed an upper endoscopy. During the test, a small tube is inserted into the throat and esophagus. While examining it, the lining of my esophagus looked red and thicker instead of the normal pale, thin tissue. The doctors took a biopsy. It wasn’t a big deal, but as a man over 50, my doctor knew I was at risk for Barrett’s esophagus. According to the doctors, the lining in my esophagus was damaged by acid regurgitation caused by my GERD, causing a condition called Barrett’s esophagus. The results of the biopsy came back as low-grade dysplasia, meaning the cells of my esophagus show signs of precancerous cells. Unfortunately, its main symptom is an increased risk for the development of esophageal cancer. Only about 1% of people develop the condition, and fewer develop cancer. I was told that I’ll need an endoscopy every six months to monitor for esophageal cancer. If the dysplasia grade increases, I may need additional treatments like radiofrequency ablation, which removes the abnormal tissue from my esophagus. I also will need to keep on top of my GERD by limiting chocolate, carbonated drinks, and fatty or fried foods. My doctor told me that it isn’t alarming but should be monitored in case it gets worse.

  12. For the longest time, my family and I assumed our Father was cursed. Day after day he would constantly nag us about his abdominal pain. Now, he’s an active gym participant, so we all assumed his complaints concerned his fit physique. However, as the weeks passed, we noticed his total body fat begin to dwindle. My Mom had approached him with our collective concerns, but he brushed it off, claiming it was the new dietary restrictions he had implemented. He said he figured the indigestion must’ve been from his current diet, so why not try changing it? This was harmless, at first. But the next month he appeared astonishingly slim. His clothing seemingly grew too large, and he was always exhausted. In and out of the bathroom, he used all of his sick days spent on the couch, waiting to rush to the toilet once more. At this point, all my Mother could do was stand from the sidelines and observe. He was ardent about his “perfectly fine” condition, but once the supposed “cramps” began, she dragged him to the emergency room. Once describing his symptoms, the doctor determined that a biopsy of his small intestine was necessary to inspect this mystery organism. The results came back, and to our surprise, my Dad had whipple’s disease. According to our doctor, the multi-bacterial disease interferes with the body’s ability to metabolize fats. The primary bacterium is called Tropheryma whipplei, a threatening force to practically any system in the body. Although capable of affecting the brain, eyes, heart, joints, and lungs, it typically occurs within the gastrointestinal system. Thankfully, Dad was spared from the neurological systems, which can vary between headaches to memory loss. On the other hand, he experienced nearly all the gastrointestinal symptoms: diarrhea, weight loss, fatigue, weakness, and abdominal bleeding and pain. Fortunately, this disease can be quickly treated and cured through a prolonged course of antibiotics (up to two years). If left untreated however, this disease is progressive and fatal.

  13. I was born with congenital sucrase-isomaltase deficiency, also known as CSID. It seemed like I was perfectly healthy until after I started to eat normal foods such as fruits and grains. When I eat sucrose or maltose, types of sugar, I experience many symptoms including watery diarrhea, bloating, abdominal pain, nausea, and sometimes vomiting. My parents brought me to the doctor and I got an endoscopic biopsy, which is a tissue sample that is taken from the small intestine for laboratory analysis. The test confirmed that I had CSID and the doctor told my parents that the symptoms were due to my inability to break the sugars down. The deficiency is caused by a mutation in the SI gene, which is responsible for producing sucrase-isomaltase enzymes. When my parents asked how common this deficiency is, the doctor said that it is still unknown because people from different backgrounds seem to have CSID at very different rates. Studies have found that anywhere from 1 in 30 to 1 in 2000 people are born with CSID. Luckily, CSID should not have an effect on my lifespan as long as I follow dietary restrictions in which I do not consume excess sucrose. Another treatment is sacrosidase, a liquid therapy medicine that is a replacement for the enzymes that are supposed to be created by the SI gene.

  14. A patient, John, has been diagnosed with ulcerative colitis after experiencing persistent abdominal pain, diarrhea, and rectal bleeding. His gastroenterologist recommends a treatment plan based on the severity of his condition. John is prescribed anti-inflammatory drugs such as aminosalicylates or corticosteroids to control inflammation. Immunomodulators or biologics may be recommended for more severe cases. Medications to manage symptoms like diarrhea and pain may also be part of the treatment. John is advised to make dietary modifications, including avoiding certain trigger foods that might exacerbate symptoms. Stress management and regular exercise are encouraged to help in overall well-being. Regular check-ups and monitoring of symptoms are essential to adjust the treatment plan as needed. The prognosis varies. While some individuals with ulcerative colitis can lead relatively normal lives with proper management, others may experience flare-ups and complications. Long-term monitoring and adherence to the treatment plan are crucial. In severe cases, surgery to remove the colon may be considered as a last resort. It’s important for John to maintain open communication with his healthcare team to address any changes in symptoms promptly and adjust the treatment plan accordingly.

  15. Recently, I began to feel an incredibly intense pain in my upper right abdomen. Along with this pain came an intense bout of nausea. My son drove me to the hospital, where I was luckily able to immediately meet with a doctor. After describing the area of my pain, the doctor used an abdominal ultrasound and confirmed her suspicions that I had gallstones. They’re hardened rocks of bile made in the gallbladder, and they can range quite a bit in size. Apparently mine were big enough to cause problems, so she prescribed me pain medication and recommended that I schedule a surgery to have the gallstones removed. This typically is not necessary, but she said that the pain would likely continue and my gallbladder may become infected if I do not have the surgery. I scheduled it, and everything went exactly as planned. I was wondering why I got gallstones in the first place, and apparently being both over 40, overweight, and losing weight quickly all increase the risk of developing gallstones. Considering all that, it’s a shock I didn’t need surgery sooner. I guess this is the celebration I get for finally working out and dieting. Also, apparently the risk is higher for Native Americans than any other group in the country. On top of that, women are more likely to develop them than men, so maybe it’s not too much of a surprise that it took me so long to need surgery.

  16. I am 23 years old and I was recently diagnosed with Crohn’s disease. Leading up to my diagnosis, I was experiencing diarrhea and lots of abdominal pain. I would occasionally have fevers and other symptoms hinting at anemia. Considering my Crohn’s disease is classified as “moderate” there is more inflammation in my GI tract and my symptoms are more severe and frequent. The worst part is, the worse the inflammation gets, it will affect my ability to absorb nutrients my body needs. I can take medications like aminosalicylates and corticosteroids which help with inflammation and suppressing the immune system. I can also make some lifestyle changes which include a better diet, lower caffeine intake, and overall less stress.

    Although Crohn’s Disease is not fatal, it can lead to various complications in one’s life, some of which can be life threatening.

  17. As I woke up one day I felt a major pain coming from my abdominal region. When I went to the bathroom that morning, I had diarrhea and I started to vomit. I drove to the doctors office this day and got an appointment. As I told the doctor my symptoms of, cramping, Diarrhea, unexplained vomiting, and bloating. My doctor started to ask questions about my family history of Bowel Disease. I told him my mother would once in a while have very bad day in the bathroom with vomiting and diarrhea. Now knowing this, My doctor diagnosed me with IBS(Irritable Bowel Syndrome). He said there is no definite cure for this disease, however to help your symptoms you must, avoid trigger foods, Drink plenty of fluids, Get enough Sleep, Eat high fiber foods, and to exercise regularly. He said To check up with regularly and if your symptoms ever worsen we will do an immediate colonoscopy.

  18. Today, I had a 37 year old female come in to see me. Her name is Marissa and she has recently been experiencing heartburn, chest pain, reguratation, and difficulty swallowing. I did a physical exam, and decided to run some further tests. After running some further tests, I had realized Marissa had gastroesophageal reflux disease, also known as GERD. I had told Marissa she had GERD and explained that it is a condition where her stomach acid is flowing back into her espohagus. It can be caused when the muscle between the stomach and espohagus deos not close correctly. Marissa asked what she could do to help her discomfort. I explained tp her that lifestyle changes, diet adjustments, and medications can help lessen the severity of her symptoms. Eating smaller meals, and not laying down directly after eating are two things that could help. Along with that, medications like antacids will help. I also explained to her that there is a genetic component with GERD. If someone in her family has it, she was more likely to get it. I gave her some suggestions and told her if her symptoms get any worse, to come back and see me.

  19. Today I woke up in what can be called a vomit storm of a morning. I was seeing double and trapped in the bathroom. I made the valiant journey to my local urgent care, and from what they said I got food poisoning. Which is caused by bacteria such as campylobacter or salmonella. The solution I was given was to wait it out, and in doing such, eat only plain foods, ensure that I don’t dehydrate. I was told to rest and wait until I don’t have diarrhea for at least two days until resuming regular activity.

  20. [News Reporter]
    “Good afternoon, this is Soleil Gracilis reporting live from the streets of Metroculus city. We have just received an eye witness account from L-5th street about local superhero MyoMan exiting a portable defecation station which no longer seems to be in working condition.”

    [Eye-Witness]
    “It’s true! I saw it all unfold before my very orbitals!”

    [Soleil]
    “It appears that, after noticing our recording setup, MyoMan is currently approaching us.”

    [MyoMan]
    “Hello there, Soleil and people of Metroculus. Tell me, what is it that you are reporting today?”

    [Soleil]
    “Well… it’s actually you, MyoMan. About something we saw just minutes ago…”

    [MyoMan]
    “Oh, I think I know what you mean by that. Well, before anyone begins spreading word online, I think I’ll just give an explanation right now on television, if I may.”

    [Soleil]
    “Go ahead.”

    [MyoMan]
    “Well, as you all know, I have the ability to store large amounts of carbohydrates and oxygen in my bloodstream and rapidly use those nutrients to power my muscles. However, I can’t use my abilities if I don’t have those nutrients, so it’s important that I get enough of them at every meal. On my last mission, the evil Digestive Delinquent used a gas that temporarily inflicts lactose intolerance. It stops my production of lactase, which is an enzyme that lets me get certain sugars from lactose in my milk. Not only does this affect the energy I get from my food, but it caused that incident you saw earlier…”

    [Soleil]
    “Oh my, that sounds… unpleasant.”

    [MyoMan}
    “It is, but I must continue to keep myself energized, lest the city be in danger.”

  21. A 30-year-old man named Alex Turner suddenly found his life taking an unexpected turn when he began experiencing persistent abdominal pain and chronic diarrhea. Concerned about his health, Alex decided to consult Dr. Reynolds, the local gastroenterologist. Dr. Reynolds, after carefully listening to Alex’s symptoms, suspected an underlying issue and recommended a series of tests to get to the root of the problem. Blood tests were conducted to measure gastrin levels, a hormone that stimulates the production of stomach acid. Additionally, an endoscopy was performed, allowing Dr. Reynolds to examine the lining of Alex’s stomach and duodenum. The results were surprising – Alex was diagnosed with Zollinger-Ellison disease (ZED), a rare condition characterized by the formation of tumors, called gastrinomas, in the pancreas or duodenum. These tumors led to an overproduction of gastrin, causing excessive stomach acid secretion and resulting in the symptoms that brought Alex to the doctor in the first place. Understanding the gravity of the situation, Dr. Reynolds discussed treatment options with Alex. Management of ZED typically involves a multi-faceted approach. Medications, such as proton pump inhibitors (PPIs), were prescribed to reduce stomach acid production. These medications played a crucial role in alleviating Alex’s symptoms and preventing complications like ulcers. Regular follow-up appointments were scheduled to monitor Alex’s progress and adjust his treatment plan accordingly. Dr. Reynolds also emphasized the importance of lifestyle modifications to complement medical management. Alex was advised to avoid spicy and acidic foods, as well as to abstain from smoking and excessive alcohol consumption, all of which could exacerbate symptoms. Though the diagnosis initially felt overwhelming, Alex was determined to take control of his health. With the support of his friends and family, he embraced a balanced diet, engaged in stress-reducing activities like yoga, and committed to regular exercise. Over time, with consistent adherence to his treatment plan, Alex’s symptoms began to subside. The tumors were closely monitored through periodic imaging tests, ensuring early detection of any changes. But because Alex listened to his doctor and stuck to the recommended treatment plan, he found out he could live with ZED.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *